Posted/Updated on April 09, 2016
Today IPL 2016 first cricket match begins with Mumbai Indians and Rising Pune Supergiants teams. Rohit Sharma is the captain for the Mumbai Indians and MS Dhoni is the captain for new team Pune. Stregths of teams, Squad details given below.

Mumbai Indians vs Rising Pune Supergiants Cricket Match Preview


Mumbai Indians: As it is a home ground for the Mumbai team, we all know how hard as nails they are. Since 2013, they have played 22 matches at home and out of which they have won 17. The Mumbai team is almost the same team as it was in the last season. Their squad contains world class players like their skipper Rohit Sharma, spectacular Simmons, powerful Pollard, threatening Corey Anderson and a new addition Jos Buttler. They also hold a strong hand in their bowling department as they have Mitchell MeClenaghan, accurate Bumrah, veteran Tim Southee and experienced Harbhajan Singh. We are not sure if Malinga is fit to play, but he is associated with the team. With this amazing squad, Mumbai looks a healthy team and difficult to beat especially at their home.

Rising Pune Supergiants:Pune are the newest addition in Indian T20 League. The team is led by the Indian limited-overs skipper MS Dhoni. The newbies are clubbed with some popular names in the cricket world. They got the best of the batsmen on their side like captain cool Dhoni, stylish Steven Smith, mighty Kevin Pietersen, fantastic Faf Du Plessis and splendid Rahane. All-rounders like Thisara Perera, Mitchell Marsh and Albie Morkel in their batting line-up looks frightening. If we look at their bowling side, the Pune team does have some great spinners in R. Ashwin and Adam Zampa. The fast bowlers like Ishant Sharma, Irfan Pathan, RP Singh need to advance their pace attack to support their team. Overall, Pune are a perfect package and it will be interesting to watch this team in their first game.


Mumbai Indians Squad:
Playing XI: Lendl Simmons, Rohit Sharma (c), Jos Buttler (wk), Ambati Rayudu, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell McClenaghan, Vinay Kumar, Shreyas Gopal, Jasprit Bumrah

Bench: Parthiv Patel, Corey Anderson, Suchith, Tim Southee, Marchant de Lange, Unmukt Chand, Akshay Wakhare, Siddhesh Lad, Krunal Pandya, Nitish Rana, Jitesh Sharma, Deepak Punia, Nathu Singh, Kishore Kamath

Rising Pune Supergiants Squad:
Playing XI: Ajinkya Rahane, Faf du Plessis, Steven Smith, Kevin Pietersen, Mitchell Marsh, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Rajat Bhatia, Ravichandran Ashwin, Murugan Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, RP Singh

Bench: Ankush Bains, Ishwar Pandey, Baba Aparajith, Albie Morkel, Saurabh Tiwary, Irfan Pathan, Ashok Dinda, Thisara Perera, Peter Handscomb, Jaskaran Singh, Adam Zampa, Ankit Sharma, Scott Boland, Deepak Chahar

Match Time: 9th April 2016 at 8.00 PM Local.

Toss: Mumbai Indians won the toss and opt to bat

Result: Rising Pune Supergiants won by 9 wkts

Scores: Mumbai Indians Innings 121-8 (20), Rising Pune Supergiants Innings126-1 (14.4)

Man of the Match: Ajinkya Rahane 66 Not out from 42 Balls (4x7, 6x3)

Live Telecast: You can watch the IPL Matches on Sony Six and Sony Set Max TV Channels.