Posted/Updated on April 10, 2016
Today IPL 2016 3rd Match between Kings XI Punjab and Gujarat Lions at Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali. Punjab Kings Captain is David Miller, New team Gujarat Lions captain is Suresh Raina for the first time.

Kings XI Punjab vs Gujarat Lions Match preview


Kings XI Punjab:
The home team Punjab will be facing the new entrant Gujarat in their opening encounter. They will be now led by David Miller and with the inclusion of new talents such as Armaan Jaffer, KC Cariappa, Shardul Thakur, the team looks good. During this year's auction there were not many great buys done by the franchise and they somewhat kept the side same as they bought only a few players. The new signings were the Indian pacer Mohit Sharma, Maharashtra lad Nikhil Naik and Swapnil Singh among others. They have kept the Australian duo of Mitchell Johnson and Glenn Maxwell intact. Glenn Maxwell has been a major star for their side and the management has focused more on the domestic players rather than bidding for foreign stars at exorbitant rates.

Gujarat Lions:
The new contestants, Gujarat on the other hand, would be making their debut in this tournament. They will be led by Suresh Raina with a completely new set of fresh and exciting talent. The foreign talent in this side consists of Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Smith, Aaron Finch, Dwayne Bravo, Dale Steyn, James Faulkner and Andrew Tye. The domestic players would boast of Ravindra Jadeja, Shadab Jakati, Dinesh Karthik, Dhawal Kulkarni, Praveen Kumar and Pravin Tambe. The side looks like a pretty balanced one. A significant plus is that they would be trained under the guidance of Zimbabwean great Heath Streak as their bowling coach and Brad Hodge as their head coach.

Kings XI Punjab (Playing XI): Murali Vijay, Manan Vohra, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Glenn Maxwell, David Miller(c), Axar Patel, Marcus Stoinis, Pardeep Sahu, Mitchell Johnson, Mohit Sharma, Sandeep Sharma

Gujarat Lions (Playing XI): Aaron Finch, Brendon McCullum, Suresh Raina(c), Dinesh Karthik(w), Ishan Kishan, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, James Faulkner, Praveen Kumar, Pradeep Sangwan, Sarabjit Ladda

Date & Time: Apr 11, 08:00 PM IST

Live Telecast: You can watch the IPL Matches on Sony Six and Sony Set Max TV Channels.

Toss: Gujarat Lions have won the toss and have opted to field

Scores: GL 162-5 • KXIP 161-6

Result: Gujarat Lions won by 5 wkts

Man of the Match: Aaron Finch